You are here:

House of Commons Library

Ministers in the 2015 and 2017 Conservative Governments

Published Friday, June 7, 2019

This list notes ministerial office holders in the 2015 and 2017 Conservative Governments.

Jump to full report >>

Current lists of ministers, shadow ministers and opposition spokespeople can be found on the Parliament website.

David Cameron's Administration

David Cameron announced senior government appointments on 8 May 2015 with junior ministerial appointments over the following days. Some ministers carried on in post from the 2010 Coalition Government therefore their start date pre-date the 2015 General Election.

Theresa May's Administration

Following David Cameron's resignation on 25 June 2016, Theresa May became Leader of the Conservative Party after two ballots and the withdrawal of the remaining candidate. See the Commons briefing on Leadership Elections: Conservative Party for details. Following her appointment on 13 May 2016, Theresa May announced a series of ministerial changes.

Further information

The Commons briefing paper on limitations on the number of Ministers and the size of the payroll vote sets out the statutory limits that apply to ministerial appointments and the number of ministers sitting in the House of Commons. It includes statistics on the number of ministers in each Parliament since 1979.

Further information on Ministers is available on the Ministers' topic page on the Parliament website which contains links to briefings produced by the House of Commons Library, the House of Lords Library and Select Committee reports.  

Previous posts held by Conservative Ministers in the 2010 coalition Government can be found in: Ministers in the Coalition Government: 2010–2015.

Parliament: facts and figures

This series of publications contains data on various subjects relating to Parliament and Government. Topics include legislation, MPs, select committees, debates, divisions and Parliamentary procedure.


Please send any comments or corrections to the Parliament & Constitution Centre. Suggestions for new lists welcomed.

Commons Briefing papers CBP-7335

Author: Sarah Priddy

Topics: Central government, Ministers

Share this page

Related links

Stay up to date

  • Subscribe to RSS feed Subscribe to Email alerts Commons Briefing papers

House of Commons Library

The House of Commons Library provides research, analysis and information services for MPs and their staff.