House of Commons Library

The European Free Trade Association

Published Friday, February 2, 2018

On 8 February 2018, there will be a Westminster Hall debate at 9:30am on the European Free Trade Association. The debate is sponsored by Stephen Hammond MP.

Jump to full report >>

The European Free Trade Association (EFTA) is an intergovernmental group of countries that seeks to promote free trade and economic integration between its members.

EFTA has four members: Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland.

Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway are also members of the European Economic Area (EEA), along with all members of the European Union.

Switzerland is unique because it is a member of the EFTA but not a member of the EEA.


Commons Debate packs CDP-2018-0031

Authors: Matthew Ward; Chris Rhodes; Vaughne Miller; Melanie Gower

Topics: EU budget, EU external relations, Immigration, International economic relations, International trade

Share this page

Stay up to date

House of Commons Library

The House of Commons Library provides research, analysis and information services for MPs and their staff.