House of Lords Library

Falklands War: 35 Years Anniversary

Published Monday, March 27, 2017

The Falklands War took place between April and June 1982, following an invasion of the Islands by the Argentine military junta. This briefing has been prepared to mark the 35th anniversary of the Falklands War. It provides background to the British and Argentine Governments' claim to sovereignty over the Islands; a summary of the events of the war; and an overview of recent political developments.

Jump to full report >>

The Falkland Islands are an archipelago in the South Atlantic comprising two main islands, East and West Falkland, and approximately 776 smaller islands and islets. They are situated 300 miles from the southern extremity of Argentina and 8,000 miles from the United Kingdom. The Falklands are an Overseas Territory of the United Kingdom, but they are also claimed by Argentina, which calls them Las Malvinas. The Falkland Islands are an Associated Territory of the European Union. In 2013, the Falkland Islands held referendum on whether or not to maintain the Islands’ status as a British Overseas Territory. The Falklands voted in favour of remaining an Overseas Territory by 1513 votes to three.

The Falklands War began in April 1982, when Argentina invaded the Falkland Islands and captured the capital Port Stanley. Following fighting both on land and at sea, the British forces regained control in June 1982. Nearly 650 Argentine soldiers were killed, and over 250 British service personnel died.

Lords In Focus LIF-2017-0028

Author: Sarah Tudor

Topic: Falkland Islands

Share this page

Stay up to date

  • Subscribe to RSS feed Subscribe to Email alerts Lords In Focus

House of Lords Library

The House of Lords Library delivers research and information services to Members and staff of the House in support of parliamentary business.