House of Commons Library

Ministers in the Coalition Government: 2010-15

Published Thursday, October 15, 2015

This list notes ministerial office holders in the 2010 Coalition Government.

Jump to full report >>

This list notes ministerial office holders in the 2010 Coalition Government.

Ministers’ dates of office

Until the 2015 General Election, all Minsters carried on in their posts. After the Conservative party won a majority in the 2015 General Election, the Prime Minister announced senior government Cabinet appointments on 8 May 2015 at which point all Liberal Democrat Ministers ceased to be Ministers.

Where a Conservative Minister continued to serve in the new Government, this is indicated in the end date column in the note:

  • Continued to hold the same office is indicated by ‘continued in post’
  • Continued in Government but in another Department, is shown by ‘continued in Govt’
  • Another role within the same government department is shown by ‘continued in Dept’

An end-date is given for all Ministers who left the Government where known.

Further information

The Commons briefing paper on limitations on the number of Ministers and the size of the payroll vote sets out the statutory limits that apply to ministerial appointments. Further information on Ministers is available on the Ministers’ topic page on the Parliament website which contains links to briefings produced by the House of Commons Library, the House of Lords Library and Select Committee reports.


Members Names Information Service; DODS People; Hansard and Number 10 press notices and the Government List of Ministerial Responsibilities.


Please send any comments or corrections to: Parliamentary Information Lists Editor, Parliament & Constitution Centre, House of Commons, London SW1A OAA. Suggestions for new Lists welcomed.

Commons Briefing papers SN06544

Author: Sarah Priddy

Topics: Central government, Ministers

Share this page

Stay up to date

  • Subscribe to RSS feed Subscribe to Email alerts Commons Briefing papers

House of Commons Library

The House of Commons Library provides research, analysis and information services for MPs and their staff.